Souvenir

I have far too many T-shirts, nearly all of them purchased at various gigs and motorsport events I’ve attended over the years.
Decided I really needed to thin things out a bit so had a sorting session. Found a few that had no special memories, were too small, too big or just purely well past the “ok to wear in public” stage. They went in the recycling bag. The majority still fitted and were perfectly clean and respectable, so went back in the wardrobe.
Which left these few, that didn’t really fit any more but held too many memories to be thrown away. The Arrows F1 one is from my only (so far) visit to a Grand Prix outside the U.K. - the Belgian GP in 1997. I bought that one because Damon Hill was driving for them. World Champion in 1996 but didn’t have his contract renewed by Williams, so ended up at Arrows with the Number 1 on a car that spent a lot of the time near the back of the field. The Joe Bonamassa, Paul McCartney and David Gilmour ones just don’t fit any more but are from memorable gigs. And I have several “Le Mans” T-shirts, of which the one in the picture represents the last time we went there.
Representing memories spanning nearly 20 years I did not want to get rid of these shirts, though it is unlikely I will ever wear any of them again. So they have been put in a box in the loft until such time as I can no longer remember why I’m hanging on to them and can throw them away!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.