Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Alexander Stadium

Out very early to catch the train down to Tame Bridge Parkway, where I joined the Tame Valley Canal for a walk into Birmingham.  As I got off the train the sun was just rising to the east, with not a cloud in the sky.  It was frosty and I've learnt to be careful crossing canal bridges in these conditions as they are invariably made of iron and can be very icy underfoot.

My intention was to get this shot of the completed Alexander Stadium, which will be the venue for the Commonwealth games this summer.  I'm amongst the people who have been chosen as volunteers to help at the games, though my venue will be the N.E.C.  Still we have tickets for one of the final evenings of athletics, including the relays which are always good fun to watch.

The rest of the walk was uneventful, with the temperature rising as the sun got higher.  Birmingham seemed to have a lot of spring cleaning going on, including the facades of a number of buildings.  Even the Floozie in the Jacuzzi will be back in operation come the Games.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.