An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Mellow yellow...

Woke up to three interesting news stories...

1.  Kate Bush's chances of finally being inducted into the Rock n Roll Hall of Fame seem to have been scuppered by the RRHOF Foundation’s unprecedented refusal to allow Kate her choice of performance at the ceremony later this year. Apparently her  participation hinged on her request to be backed by an orchestration largely consisting of kazoos and some light percussion instruments, but they declined.

2.  Strongest winds every recorded on the Isle of Skye have blown over the ancient rock formation known as The Old Man of Storr.

3.  New TV show currently being recorded for Channel 4's autumn season...The Great British Hook Off -  a crochet based craft competition.

I didn't have to check the date twice :-)))

Billy, our painter and decorator (well not just ours :-) popped in this morning to go over a list jobs both inside and out.  It's mainly freshening up of woodwork and some ceilings where we've had roof leaks.  Also Alan's bedroom, which will be painted any colour so long as it's blue.  

Alan did choose a paint colour last year and from memory it was a kind of denim blue, but I can't remember the manufacturer, so will have to get some paint charts and check with him.

Once Billy had gone David suggested we go to the golf club for lunch as a wee treat before S, L, the girls and their dog arrive tomorrow.  He didn't have to ask me twice!  :-)

It was such a lovely day.  Blue skies and sunshine and much milder that we'd been expecting.  Lunch was lovely although it was a much reduced menu as the main chef and another chef are off with covid.  It is absolutely rife!

When we got back, I cut some small branches from the forsythia, which is in full bloom and looks so bright and cheerful.  Just the thing for my favourite little Tain pottery vase :-)

Inspired by this, I went to the studio and painted three little pen and wash watercolour sketches.  I like them, but I like my practice sketch and the abstract patterns made on the scrap of paper for testing my colours on, more!  LOL! 

Just a sandwich for dinner as we were pretty full from lunch.  And now I am going over my to-do list to make sure everything I need to do by the time our visitors arrive tomorrow, is done!  It's the calm before the storm! :D 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.