An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Elsie Efalump...

Backblipped


Woke early again, still coughing, but thankfully managed to get back to sleep and slept quite late.  Made the effort to get showered and dressed and felt better but a bit exhausted by it.  

D felt we needed some comfort food for lunch (he definitely believes in starving a fever and feeding a cold :-) so made us rolls and sausage and huge mugs of tea.  Perfect.

After lunch I was cheered up by an email from Lola's vet (see extra) with the results of her Titre test, which shows she has full immunity to the core diseases that are vaccinated against.

*steps on soapbox*

Lola is almost six years old and has only ever had her puppy vaccinations yet annual boosters for dogs are still being automatically given to dogs by vets and owners when there’s often no need. Even the vaccine manufacturers and veterinary guidelines state boosters, if required, should only be given every three years.

I am also delighted to see them reiterate that Leptospirosis vaccine (Lepto 2 and 4) and kennel cough are NOT core vaccines. Lola will never have a Lepto vaccine (Google adverse effects of Lepto vaccine in dogs and you’ll see why or look here))

I want to be clear that I’m not anti vaccination, but I am anti over-vaccination as over vaccination is one of the biggest causes of cancer, autoimmune disease and premature death in dogs.

If your vet insists on annual boosters without checking your dog needs them, it’s time to find a new vet. A titre test costs £60. I think it’s money well spent.

*Gets down from soapbox*

Fit for nothing but sitting in the garden room with feet up, a box of hankies and a packet of butter mints to hand (I've not quite reached the Werther's Originals stage yet. Give it another month and I reckon I'll be there ;-) Of course I dozed off and ended up sleeping for hours!

I woke up as D was making dinner - seabass in a lemon, parsley butter sauce with baby potatoes and braised Savoy cabbage with parmesan. My appetite for dinner hasn't been great for a few weeks now but this smelt amazing and I really enjoyed it.

Watched the first episode of Magpie Murders on BBC1. I think it was first shown early last year on Britbox. Really enjoyed it so must make the effort to watch the rest of it.

Blipped my little Elsie Efalump because I accidentally knocked her onto the floor today and for a split second thought she would shatter, but thankfully she didn't. And now she's immortalised in my journal.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.