Victoria Park

This morning I went for my first shift as a volunteer at the Butterfly House in Victoria Park, Widnes. Yes, I know it sounds weird that there should be a butterfly house in Widnes, but there is!!!
It was started 7 years ago and opens 3 days a week between May and September and has around 10,000 visitors per season despite being quite small. But it’s free and lots of children come to see the life cycle of the butterfly. Over the past three years they have not been open - first year because the glasshouse was being replaced and then came covid of course. The volunteers have done a great job over the past couple of years redesigning the adjacent garden and that’s where we were working today - weeding, mulching, filling raised beds and generally tidying up. I think I’m going to like this new “job”.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.