A view from Jeanneb

By Jeanneb53

Passion tide

Today is Passion Sunday the start of preparation in church for Easter and the coming of Holy Week next week.

A good time then to feature the Pasque flowers (Pulsatilla) which have started flowering in the garden no doubt brought along by the warm sun we had prior to this cold snap. Of course in other years this has been the Easter weekend.
I bought three new plants last year and this is one of them seen flowering today when I got back from church. It’s a lovely deep pink. My original plant has lots of flowers in a light lilac colour and one of my other new ones in flower is a deep purple.

The third new plant is next to the original and has leaf but as yet no flowers. I think it’s a white lone. If I remember correctly I had a white one before and it didn’t flourish. Will just have to wait and see! 

The weather has continued to be cool this weekend but with plenty of sun and nothing like as chilly as it was on Friday. I think we’ve been very fortunate that the Magnolia hasn’t lost all of it’s flowers with the cold though there are a few blooms with brown edges.
There are primroses flowering as well as Cowslips and the tulips are coming. A whole clump of the little multi-headed ones that we planted way back when we first moved in (1984) are in flower almost hidden by the Ceanothus which has spread over the top of them. They seem to come through whatever gets in their way. Extra collage.

Church curry night tonight. We often turn up not knowing who else from the four churches will be there but we hear that tonight our rector and his wife are coming.

My Yr 12 blipfoto book is now ordered and I saved over £21!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.