Well That Didn't Work!

I went out and made another mini goblet. It turned fine and was sanding well as just as I went to switch off the lathe... it broke.
It may actually glue back together quite well .... we shall see - another day.

But it did give me an idea for This.....
It is a spinning top but the tip is up inside the 'skirt' and the base has a small dimple for it to spin in - and it doesn't fall off when it stops spinning, so there is no chasing about trying to catch it. I should probably have taken pictures to show the tip and the dimple

SWMBO wanted some fresh air this morning so we headed off to South Queensferry and the main entrance to Hopetoun House where she got her fresh air through an open car window and I got mine on a cold, windswept beach where I took unimpressive pictures of the bridges and had more fun taking pictures of textures of broken oyster shells, shells, burnt wood (I brought a piece of that home with the intention of turning it somehow) and tree bark (eating rocks in some cases). 
They follow on from the last link.

I went back out to the garage in the afternoon, but didn't get very far at all as next door asked if I could look at the outside light at her door as it didn't seem to be sitting properly.
It wasn't.
The guys doing the painting were suspected of taking it down and not putting it back properly. 
After spending ages at it, I came to the conclusion it had never been fitted properly as there was not the space inside the mounting for all the wires and junction boxes for it to sit flush and be screwed in properly. I even got a depth gauge and checked it.
Her partner is going to be given the job of going and buying a new one next week.

Just as I finished that I got a call from Bags. Could I nip round the corner and pick up The Cygnet's sweatshirt. Easy enough but a bit lazy on her part I felt.
I got round there and joined the queue!
It turns out the house owner was the one who had organised for hoodies to be printed up for all the kids going to High School after the summer and the delivery had arrived ..... about 60 of them - all personalised which is why there was a queue forming while she tried to find the right ones.
So it was then off to deliver it to a delighted Cygnet.
It turned out that the whole family were having a pyjama day and watching The Lord Of The Rings films which is why they weren't really able to go and get the sweatshirt. They hadn't really expected me to deliver it - but I am a good person (I keep telling them that) and besides, I had to go out and get soured cream since I forgot it yesterday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.