New life

I was having a WhatsApp chat with Manda this morning, as she sent me a photo of her frogspawn. She had rescued it from her path, next to a dead frog, a week ago and wanted to get my opinion on whether I thought it was alive. But it was hard to see from the photo she sent, so I'm hoping it was, especially as I don't have any in my pond....or so I thought. We had coffee in the garden this morning, and I was kneeling by the pond (as you do), when I suddenly spotted a small clump of frogspawn. It was hiding under some pond weed. I was so excited, and quickly messaged Manda back to tell her. I think it was the highlight of my weekend.

My morning was spent cleaning the kitchen and bathrooms. My next plan was to sort my fabric and reduce it - probably in the end by a bit more than a third - three eigths perhaps. Now all my big fabric fits in my ottoman. I have kept fabric that I like, but have been quite ruthless. No more bags for now, but I will think about making something to wear next. But not for a while. I've tidied and put it all 'away'(in our house there is no away, but I've pushed it to the sides to give space in the middle of the room.

Prepped dinner for the evening and then at 3.30 went to the allotment to dig one bed and cover with soil from my compost bin. I had the company of the chickens who made a dust bath in my wildflower patch, just after I had scattered seed. So I'm not sure how many seeds will have survived! Pleased with one bed prepared, I picked more purple sprouting broccoli and cycled home. Jon had done dinner and it was a perfect roast - all I needed to do was make the gravy. That's always my job. Gravy making is interesting. I make mine in the fat from the joint with flour, oxo and vegetable water. I learnt from mum, and she learnt from nana (dad's mum) but I know some people just pour hot water on gravy granules. I think my family would object greatly if I ever served that up with a roast. We do love our gravy.

It was 7.20 when we finished dinner, but Jon and I wanted a walk, so we went straight out for a long walk around the village, ending at the allotment where we sat on our old plastic chairs and enjoyed the peace and quiet until it was almost dark, then strolled back. Our discussion was 100% focused on caravans. We talked about what we want, or would like, what we think our budget could be (we will still end up with a 20 year old caravan) and where we could go to look. I will just keep looking! It gives me some hope.

Now I'm watching The Great British Tiny challenge (I can't remember the exact name) on More 4. I think I see another hobby looming....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.