Marchmont in Marchmont 3

I heard owls, I think, in the early morning.  Despite the weather forecast it was a beautiful morning and I had a walk before breakfast.  Although the surroundings are amazing the sight that really strikes you is the devastation caused by Storm Arwen. There are trees down everywhere - big, small. whole trees, severed limbs.  Some have gone down like skittles.  Some are misshapen because of what they have lost and storm are huge trees with huge roots and root balls completely uprooted.  It is sadly reminiscent of Tempete Klaus in SW France in January 2009. It will take years both to clear and rejuvenate.

More sausages and black pudding this morning and even a tattie scone.  Then it was out round the policies with David guiding us on photography (there is no right and no wrong)and Hugo describing the sculptures.  There were some great opportunities as we explored the grounds and then walked up to Polwarth Kirk which is destined to be an arts centre.

There was another surprising coincidence today.  I had just finished telling M about B's gardener son-in-law and his job with the Duchess of Northumberland when Hugo announced that he had started at Marchmont in January and is brilliant.   Another 'how weird is that' moment.  

We did a good walk in the sunshine and both my foot and thigh held up which was gratifying.  After drinks on the terrace it was a traditional Sunday lunch with roast lamb and then time to say 'good-bye'.  I missed J before she left.  Probably another 35 years before I bump into her again but I'll pass David's home everytime I go in and out of town.  And he has a link, through his wife, to yet another blipper. 

I didn't want to go straight home so took the long way round to remind myself of Fogo Kirk, thriving again I'm told and then out past Blackadder West.  Sold I think though the cottages have decayed even further.

Discovered I'd left my water bottle (neep) but by the time I drove circuitously back to the house the staff had left.  It will be sent back.

I came back via Longformacus and that long, empty road over the Lammermuirs..  However, the sun of this morning had been replaced by heavy rain so there were no views.  It is an atmospheric road.

An evening of unpacking and relaxing and reflecting on a great weekend, arrived stranger, left a friend.  I will need to go back. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.