Rubble

Construction has now
ramped up, high activity
and many changes

~ carliewired

I was looking out off my deck at 7 AM. It was only 3 C and the sky was bleary and grey. I decided this was not a morning I cared to rush into. It wasn't even worthy of a photo of my mountains. I made a pot of coffee and sat. 

Just before 9 I headed off to Riverside Park with a thought to survey the reconstruction work there. As I came off the bridge onto Victoria Street, I faced a snaggle of traffic heading to the bridge. The city, in its infinite wisdom, has just started an experiment in traffic flow. Traffic on Victoria Street must funnel into one lane going onto the bridge. Here we were past rush hour and the traffic was backed up and NOT flowing. Some poor soul was trying to make a left hand turn into a business on the south side of the street thus causing all the traffic heading to the bridge to back up for most of a block. I despair! 

I parked by Heritage House in the park to walk down towards the pier. I was surprised to see such an open view to the river. All the cement block buildings that were washrooms and concession and utility buildings are gone. There were many pieces of expensive equipment working. One rolled onto the entrance to the pier. One lifted pieces along the newly elevated walkway along the river. Many workers in high viz vests moved about. The water park as we knew it is no more. The city has announced this week that our Canada Day celebrations will happen this year (July 1st). I assume that this park renovation must be completed before then as the park serves at the main venue for the celebration. I have some concerns for the well-being of the large, mature trees, but I will be very happy to see the project completed. No birds to observe today. I'm sure the noise and activity have disturbed them all. I left my quilted heart on a bench near the Uji Friendship Garden. 

I will be providing my daughter with food and groceries today. She is home isolating until she's recovered. Then, I'm home by myself for the rest of the day with no particular plans. 

We have a mostly cloudy day with a chance of showers and a high of 12 C. We also have the risk of afternoon thunder showers. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.