Well That Surprised Me

I had a couple of disks which were too nice to throw out so I thought I would just make a couple of spinning tops.
The first one was Yew and I used another offcut of Yew for the stem. When it came to the spinning tip I picked up a piece of Elder as I liked the colour. I thought the colour would go as the moisture was forced out of it  (it was only cut a few weeks ago). It didn't seem to ........ so I used some more as a contrast to the bit of Laburnum. When I put a coat of oil on the tops, the colour really jumped ... and they spin nicely too.
Happy Bunny  time.

SWMBO and I forced ourselves to go to the shopping centre this afternoon to look at new phones - we have had the current ones for several years and mine is starting to do silly things light switching its torch on all by itself.
We weren't buying as SWMBO has been offered a good, time sensitive offer so it was just a case of confirming that it was suitable and 'comfortable' (LOL) in the hand.
It is just as well I didn't have a walking stick with me because I would have used it as a weapon on all the 'Yoofs' walking about without masks through the centre and shops.

My attention was taken by the Lego   dinosaurs that were on display.

Back home and phones have been purchased (she couldn't get the colour she wanted  as they wanted more money for that). Now it is a matter of finding a case that I like.


EDIT ........... The yellow wood is Mahonia - not Elder.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.