Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

A visitor from Salt Lake City

I haven't quite known whether I was coming or going today.

I was meeting my friend, Anne (pictured) from her flight into Newcastle Airport at 1245. She had flown overnight from Salt Lake City to the UK.

First off, Margret (next door) went to the walk-in clinic and had an x-ray, which confirmed my clinical diagnosis of a fractured 5th metatarsal. She now has a moon boot to wear and is a lot more comfortable.

The fall out from the accident has continued, because Margret and two friends are due to travel to Higham Hall, near Bassenthwaite, for a short course starting on Sunday. Margret was the driver.

There has been a lot of discussion, but the outcome is that another neighbour has volunteered to take them in his car.

Meanwhile, Anne's flight from Amsterdam was delayed (high winds). The Newcastle Airport website continued to say that it was due on time, but Amsterdam airport said it was late.

Anne sent texts to let me know what was happening. 

In the end, I was able to meet her from her delayed plane and we went to The Badger, nearby, for a very late lunch. Her brother drove from Guisborough to take her back to Teesside and to the rest of the family there.

We had a great chat and caught up on lots of things, but the delay meant I was too late to go for my haircut with Claire.

Also, Oscar's limp, not very bad for about 3 days, because much worse, so I've booked a vet appointment for the morning. I have to sedate him, rush to Corbridge for a haircut, come back and put him in the cat carrier (no problem, I hear you say), and go to Hexham.

I hope I sleep tonight as I slightly worry about whether this plan will work or be a disaster. Poor Oscar. (Poor me.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.