A view from Jeanneb

By Jeanneb53

A great morning out ..

back in Halifax.

Yesterday I received a text to say my embroidery was ready to collect in Halifax ( I took it in last Monday), so instead of waiting till Monday we decided to go and collect it this morning. I’m very pleased with it and may blip it later.

It was another glorious morning though still cold after an early frost. I think there was less wind as it didn’t feel quite as chilly
as yesterday.

Chris normally does a Sainbury’s shop on a Saturday morning so we went on to Halifax to shop there.

I suggested we visit Shibden Hall as we were so near and it would be a good follow up after our interlude with Anne Lister in the Piece Hall last week. Anne Lister lived in the Hall in the 19th century but it is much older. Built in 1420 it was to 600 years old in 2020 but planned celebrations had to be deferred due to the pandemic.

I’ve visited the hall before but many years ago, long before the very recent notoriety of Anne Lister and ‘Gentleman Jack’. It is set in a lovely park and my most recent visit there was actually a blipmeet  in January 2015.

We walked down past the house, seen here, to the cafe for a coffee by the boating lake. Sitting outside and sheltered it felt really warm, I even took my coat off. The little train that skirts the lake was running and the bigger tractor pulled train was taking passengers up to the house. (The park is quite steep and the house is at the top of the hill)
We didn’t take the train but walked back up and then went into the house. I loved it, I remembered  the interior is very dark with lots of wood panels very much like East Riddlesden Hall.

Out at the back is a barn housing carriages that the Lister family used and also a small Folk Museum. An excellent visit.

As we left the blue sky had gone and there were showers of hail and sleet so our visit was well timed.

I chose this shot as it shows the extent of the building and, though not planted, you can the ‘paisley style’ shape of the flower beds which are based on historic plans. 

The house and grounds were given to Halifax Corporation in the 1920’s when the park was opened to the public and the house opened as a museum in 1933.


I will add my many photos to my Flickr album and give a link later if you’re interested.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.