Look what I saw today, larch flowers! It was the highlight of the day for me, and Fi hadn't seen them before either!

We went to the Roaches, but we didn't do much climbing as neither of our heads were in the right place. 

Prow corner was empty. It's always been busy with groups when we've been previously, so Fi decided on a VDiff and got about two thirds of the way up, but then she just couldn't do the crux move. She downclimbed, leaving the gear in as I said I'd do it... but the same move stopped me too. I downclimbed but took the gear out. When I took the last bit out I said to forget the belaying and spot me instead!

We moved to the Upper Tier and I wanted to lead Right Route. I've seconded it 3 times and led it once, I looked at it and thought yes! But it was a no, having got up to the roof and was unable to trust the polished, sloping holds this time. I downclimbed, leaving the gear in for Fi. She got to the same place, but no. She downclimbed, we pulled the rope through and went up top to ab down to get my gear. As luck would have it, another pair were going to climb the route anyway and said they'd get my gear on their way up. Hurrah!

Lunch and then we walked up to the Skyline area because Fi wanted to actually lead something... at this point I wasn't bothered. She tried to climb another VDiff, but it was obviously a very bad head day and she came down. 

Enough! What a stupid day! But we got some practice downclimbing, which is always useful even if it's scary and unwanted. We packed up and walked down to the cars. I stopped at the tea rooms just down the road for a coffee - I needed keeping awake for the drive home.

I've got to stop denying myself recovery time, and when Fi suggested climbing today I should've said no. Since last Saturday I've done a 17 mile walk, climbed at Harborough Rocks, done 2 x 8 mile walks and a 3 miler, and a 12 mile walk yesterday. Is it any wonder that I was below par today?! Fi is at least 15 years younger and therefore isn't so affected, but I'm 68 and need to give myself a break.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.