Happy Anniversary!

Today is our first Wedding Anniversary! In some ways it doesn't seem possible that it's already been a year since our wedding, but in others it seems difficult to imagine not being married!
It really was a wonderful day!
We had a leisurely lie in this morning. I didn't even wake up until 8.30am (which pre-children was the middle of the night, now it's a blissful lie-in!!) and when we managed to drag ourselves out of our fabulous four-poster bed we went down to a scrummy breakfast.
Last year I remember agonising over all the music and I eventually some of the songs from The Piano to be played while everyone waited for me to come in.
Guess what was playing at breakfast?!!! It made me feel so emotional.
After breakfast we set off on a lovely cross-country route to get to Ross on Wye and visit the shop of one of my favourite websites in the world. It didn't disappoint!!
So many beautiful things..... When I win the lottery I'll be back down there with a fleet of removals vans!
We were there for much longer than we realised which made us very late getting to Gloucester for our second cathedral of the weekend.
I'm not one to moan and I generally look on the bright side but my God, Gloucester was rubbish!!!!
The cathedral closed at 3pm - we got there at five past; it was raining so we got soaked walking to the "historic docks" which turned out to be just fancy apartments; the folk museum was closed; every other shop was boarded up and the whole town had a really dismal feel to it.
I don't doubt we'd have had a better experience if we'd got there an hour or two earlier - but then I wouldn't have had my Welsh cakes in the Tabernacle cafe at Baileys!!
We were in a quandry then: I didn't want to just drive home but anything else just felt like killing time. We paused to consider a Costa in Gloucester but decided to head for home and see if anything struck us.
We came to a roundabout and were just about to head for Oxford when I fleetingly saw a sign saying Cheltenham 4 miles. Quick about turn and fifteen minutes later we were happily esconced in Cafe Rouge. I rarely go anywhere without Cafe Rouge vouchers from Tescos!!
And I'm clearly a fan of their chairs in the rain!
What a scrummy anniversary meal we had: a sharing platter of houmous, red pepper tapenade, crab pate and blue cheese with bread and crackers to start; beef bourguignon for me, chicken and mash for Mr K; and a shared chocolate ganache cake for pudding! Yummy!!!
And home in time to see the Little Misses before they went to bed.
What a bloody fantastic weekend.
Thank you to my mum for booking it for us and for looking after the Little Misses.
And thank you to Mr K for marrying me and putting up with me. I love you.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.