An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

A brief hiatus...

Backblip

from the chaos and fun.  

After lunch, S, L and the girls went to visit a friend in Edinburgh.  Faith was very keen to show me her new dress and how happy she was that it matched her shoes.  Wonderful coordination! :-)) 

The quietness that settled on the house after they left was welcome but a bit disconcerting at the same time!  lol

We reverted to type and David popped out to the driving range and I retreated to my studio with half a notion to paint a watercolour landscape for S & L's recent 10th wedding anniversary.  I settled on a scene of the Old Man of Storr and got it sketched out, colour palette chosen and the sky painted before stopping to start dinner prep.  

The traffic was pretty bad on the Edinburgh bypass when is it ever anything else? so they returned slightly later than planned.  A brief pause to gather themselves before we settled down to dinner of beef chilli with rice, tacos, cheese, guacamole and sour cream.  

I am always amazed by the girls' willingness to eat what the grown ups are having.  With the exception of the salmon, they've eaten exactly what we have at every meal, often asking for seconds!  Anna declared my chilli was the best she's ever had (she's only seven but I'll take that compliment :-))

They're supposed to be seeing friends in Glasgow tomorrow but their friend's young son caught his finger in a door and ended up in hospital having minor surgery to fix it, so I think the visit may be postponed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.