Allotment day

I managed to sleep until nearly 9 (after briefly being woken by Jon's 6.20am) then wandered about the garden in my pyjamas watering and checking on everything.

I made a cup of tea for Henry and I, and after breakfast, we sat in the conservatory to plan our day. As it was just us at home today, I was pleased that he willingly wanted to help me. Packed the bike up with water bottles, radio, seeds, a can of petrol and my broad bean plants. Henry grabbed 2 big bags of horse manure on our way.

Henry got straight onto the rotavating, which is really hard work. In all he rotavated 3 separate beds for me, after digging them first. I planted my broad beans in one section, then picked my remaining purple sprouting broccoli so that the whole bed could be churned up. I planted a row of swede and a row of kale. Not had much luck with either before, but thought it worth a go as I have the seeds. Henry then got the mower going and cut the grass. The chickens, meanwhile, enjoyed a free range day. I'm thinking about buying a couple more. I'd like a bigger run for them, so mote plans needed.

We got back home at 2 30 and had a late lunch in the French Quarter. Then I planted loads of seeds in pots, and tomorrow i need to tidy the garden and get the pots into the warm.

Mollie made pizzas for dinner and we sat in the lounge looking through my old Chester college teacher training files that I brought back from mums loft. There may be the odd bits she finds are useful in her forthcoming year. I don't remember any of the work, but there is plenty for her to go through. Lesson plans etc. Not happy memories for me, but it woukd be good if some good came of it. If she doesn't want any of it, I'll bin the lot now. 37 years in mums loft!

Just watched Granchester which was a bit of a tear Jersey, and now I'm watching The Goodies on 'ThatsTV'. It was one of our favourites as a kid. They don't do family sit coms like they used to!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.