Death in Paradise

There’s some fairly extensive discussion as to where today’s adventure will take us; it’s a Bank Holiday so there are issues of parking and crowds to consider. In the end we dismiss places further afield, opting instead for the nearby Coed Bron Garth at Llangwstenin. This is an ancient woodland known for its springtime bluebell carpets - a place unknown to either of us, I’m ashamed to say, until I learnt of it last year from fellow Blipper Villan. 

In the warm sunshine we climb the steep hillside to this little vernal paradise. Of course, the bluebells aren’t quite at their best just yet, but still the gentle haze of blue is emerging through the trees, and there are also carpets of white wood anemones and yellow flowers that I’ve failed, as yet, to confidently identify. 

The four of us wander through the woods, me stopping repeatedly to take a variety of shots. At one point, I end up lying on the path photographing a tiny spider ‘embrace’ a smaller fly before carefully preparing it for its Easter meal - my blip today (much better large).  The others look on bemused. ‘Welcome to my world,’ G tells them. 

Our way back down is equally slow - there’s always something catching my eye. We had considered continuing to another location, but just before we reach the car I realise I have somehow managed to mislay by brand new Raybans in the woods - disaster. So it’s back up the steep slope to the woods again - all of us, though I’ve volunteered to go myself. G holds out little hope, but sure enough, Solveig finds them in the dell where I had lain right back to get some ‘arty’ shots and they had obviously fallen off my head! 

By now, all we really want is to sit in the garden back at home - but typically our plans are forced to change with the clouds and drizzle that arrives. 

Sadly, by now our lovely visitors have left, but it’s been a wonderful two days. My planned family shots just didn’t get taken, though I did get a few of Solveig in the woods. One of these features in the extras, together with other woodland shots. 

Thanks again for your kindness towards yesterday’s sunset - it’s very much appreciated! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.