In the rushes.

A pleasant relaxed morning, reading my iPad and doing crosswords and Wordle with a break where I went out and did quite a bit of weeding in the front garden.  In the afternoon there was yet more weeding in the back garden.  Probably too much as my knee got a bit grumpy but I have lost a couple of pounds and even that small amount makes a difference.  Went off to Letham ponds about six hoping for some birds but the ponds are always good for a photo anyway.  Things were different from expected however. Going down the little side road between the ponds I saw a swan standing on the verge. It looked OK but it's very unusual.  I parked a little further down and walked back on the other side of the road looking to see if it was injured in any way.  It didn't seem to be.  It moved it's neck and wings as normal  but it's legs were absolutely still and didn't move from the spot.  The pond on my side of the road was full of back lit fluffy headed cattails with a swan settled amongst them and it's mate patrolling the water.  Took some photos wondering if there  was ongoing feud between this pair and the swan on the road.  I stood for a while wondering what to do, then a bus and two cars came along moving fairly slowly as they had noticed the swan.  Their passing was enough though to make it move from the verge and into the drainage ditch and then the pond.  All its parts were in working order and it swam off.  I heaved a sigh of relief and drove off home.  Must try and find out if there has been any trouble there with swans fighting.  Could be a parent driving away a last years cygnet.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.