Busy, busy, busy

This morning I took our mattress protector, pillow protectors and a quilt to the laundromat to wash and dry them, as they’re just a bit too big for our washing machine and dryer.  I can’t have been fully awake, because I forgot the key that’s loaded with money to operate the machines and also forgot my washing powder, so had to purchase more.  Afterwards I managed to get back to Eastridge in time to have a quick chat with some of my walking friends before doing some shopping, booking our flu injections and posting a treat to a friend.  I arrived home in time to munch on an apple and a slice of cheese before hopping on a bus to Kohimarama for my Pilates class.  After class it started to rain heavily, so one of my classmates drove me home, even though I think it was out of her way.  How very kind.

We were relaxing with a coffee when an email popped in to tell hubby that he’d been granted New Zealand citizenship. There are no ceremonies at the moment because of Covid, so he probably won’t get one I suspect, but his Certificate will be posted to him “within two months”! Not sure why the delay but no doubt it’ll arrive in due course. 

We popped over to Mum’s to sort out a little problem for her and ended up having a celebratory G&T. Afterwards we caught the bus down to St Heliers (should have walked but don’t want to aggravate my leg) for a celebratory meal at the local Italian - always a fun place to go.

We’ve just had some new lights installed in the lobby area of our little apartment building.  The old ones had been there since it was built over 45 years ago, I think. The new ones are on sensors, so they come on when necessary then switch off, and they’re much more modern. I’ve discovered it’s actually quite difficult to get a decent photo of a set of lights.

There are 8,270 new community cases today, and the seven-day rolling average of case numbers is 7,585, compared to 9,731 last Tuesday. The number of people in hospital is 572, including 19 in ICU. Another 5 deaths have been reported. This takes the total number of publicly reported deaths to 602 and the seven-day average to 12.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.