Old advertisements

On 10th April I didn't mention that my march to the Waverley with Beth was a little longer than usual because the Calton Road entrance to the station was blocked off for filming. Some of the 1970s props from the drama in question were still visible on the advertising hoardings when we passed them on our return home from Newark today.

I saw the old-fashioned football kit in the Wrigley advert first, concluding that this was a rather 'retro' way to market chewing gum. When I saw the cigarettes, I instantly thought 'Goodness, isn't that illegal?' It wasn't until I spotted the ad for the whisky that I realised that none of the three were current.

We had a good journey back up the east coast, and it didn't take us long to unpack and settle back into our native habitat on return to our flat. I am, however, very, very tired. This is because I had a lot of trouble sleeping while we were away, despite the extremely comfortable beds on offer. I told our hosts that I just have an uncomfortable body.

I'm looking forward to a lovely deep bath before bed this evening in the hope that this will do the trick and set me up for a long sleep.

Exercise today: minimal walking (6010 steps).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.