Obedient wallflowers

I'm pleased to report that my wallflowers took my threat of 7th March seriously and are now looking lovely against our back wall.

This morning our guests took themselves off to the botanic gardens while Mr hazelh and I prepared Sunday lunch of roast chicken and lemon meringue pie. When they returned, Mr hazelh gave Katherina a massage, and I taught Andrew how to play Carcassonne. Meanwhile our niece Bethany, who has been in Edinburgh over the weekend to work on our podcast project, wrapped up her work on campus in good time to join us for lunch.

By coincidence, all our lunch guests were all booked on the same train south for their return journeys home, so we booked a taxi to take them together to the station after the meal. Central taxis usually arrive 5 minutes early, so we all gathered on the street just before the assigned time. However, the taxi did not appear for another 20 minutes. By this time Bethany and I had marched nearly all the way through the New Town to the station. I was not prepared to risk her missing the train: her ticket was only valid on the booked service. Thankfully everyone made it to the platform with 5 minutes to spare. The others would have arrived sooner had Andrew not realised in the taxi that he had left his laptop at the house!

This evening I am making stock and soup, and Mr hazelh has taken charge of the laundry. Then we will relax and (I hope) have an early night.

Exercise today: small amount of very brisk walking.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.