An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

And in a blink...

the day was gone!  

Early rise this morning as we had a fire fighter coming to do a house check and give advice on fire safety, given that as well as being our home, it's also a place of work for Alan's team.

Firefighter Steve duly arrived and went round the house with David and Jordan and I am pleased to say everything is as it should be.  He gave us some helpful, practical advice and reassured us that in all situations common sense prevails (I was worried about certain regulations that may have banned the use of Alan's ceiling hoist in the event of a fire, making escape more   difficult) 

After he left we had lunch before D headed off to play golf with Kenny at Cawder, after which he went straight to his singing rehearsal.  This meant I had the entire day to myself and I wasn't going to waste it.

Some time in the studio, supposedly to start working on a Chookie Birdie mascot for S & L's charity, but I just wasn't feeling it.  Ended up in a bit of a dwam* painting random flower heads whilst listening to the birds singing outside.  I think I just needed the peace and not have to think about what I was painting.  I certainly felt very relaxed afterwards.

My reverie was broken by the doorbell. It was the postman delivering yarn for my next crochet project (actually not my next project, or the next but the next!!  But I like the yarn so much I think I will bump this project to the top of the list :-)

Decided to sit in the sun in the garden room and continue with my current crochet project but within 5 minutes I had dozed off!  Out for the count for almost three hours!  No wonder the day has gone so quickly!

Museli and fruit for dinner.  I can never be bothered cooking for one.  If I was single I'd be a size 8!  

I am hoping to paint a watercolour landscape of the Old Man of Storr for S&L's 10th wedding anniversary and yesterday found a beautiful photograph online that would be perfect to base the painting on.  I messaged the photographer requesting permission to use her photograph and I got a lovely email back from her today granting her permission.  Hoping to start the planning stages of that tomorrow as their anniversary was actually earlier this month!  Better late than never :-))

And look at that...it's past midnight again :-(

*dwam - Scots word for daydream.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.