The South Side

I don't have to look
too far to find some marmots
gamboling about

~ carliewired

I was out on my deck at 6 AM catching that early morning light. It was a rather chilly -2 C. When I'd drained my big mug of coffee I decided it was altogether too early to launch. I pulled up my fuzzy blanket and took a nap in my recliner. When I woke again just after 8:30 the sun was shining inviting me out with my camera. 

I made it a short trip this morning. I drove into McArthur Island Park and parked on the south side. The city crews are very busy on the island. They are setting up the equipment and signs and grooming all the fields. I looked over onto the river. The gulls were on the sandbars and were strangely quiet. I found one lovely pair of mallards working their way upriver. The river is slowly filling up. Sandbars are disappearing. Channels are merging. I looked across Rabbit Island that's leafing out. The university's conference centre on the hill reminds me of a French chateau. 

The marmots were in evidence all along that south shore. They scramble up and down the bank. They disappear down a burrow and then pop up again. They chase each other and spend a very long time munching the grass and roots. Each looks hopeful when a human approaches. They are getting all too familiar with handouts. 

I'm home with my sewing machine today. It will be a quiet day. 

We look forward to a mainly sunny day with a high of 16 C. I like that! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.