CYCLES

Busy-ish day today.  This afternoon I went shopping in the Co-op.  Then I did some chores.  Then it was time to get the bus to head for Newcastle.  NUFC were playing at home again.  7.45pm kick off v Crystal Palace.

As usual when there's a match on town was packed.  Great atmosphere in the ground. The Wor Flags display in the Gallowgate End was a tribute to our number 10 -  Allan Saint- Maximin. There was a large flag with his image on and lots of small gold flags making up the number ten. See my Extra.

Newcastle played Ok in the first half and were never in trouble.  And on the 32nd minute Newcastle player Miggy ( Miguel Almiron ) got the ball in the net.  He was so delighted to score that he immediately took off his shirt, vaulted the fence and ran into the crowd quite near to me.  A couple of other players followed him.  And lots of supporters crowded round to congratulte the goalscorer.  Amazing scenes.  When Miggy returned to the pitch of course he was given a yellow card by the referee.  Its a bookable offence for a player to remove his shirt.  Such a silly rule. Not that Miggy cared I'm sure - he was on cloud 9. I have added an Extra.  Wasn't easy to take a photo as there were so many supporters in the way.

In the second half Palace were more of a threat and Newcastle had to keep a tight defence..  But The Toon managed to hang on to their lead till the final whistle to gain another 3 points.  They have now won 6 home games in a row - for the first time in 18 years. So it looks like they are probably safe and will remain in the Premiership next season. 

So then I had to get home.  Hardly any buses to choose from but I headed for Eldon Square bus station as at least I could wait indoors there.  20 min wait for a bus - which was packed with  noisy but good natured footie fans.  I had a bit of a walk when I got off the bus - very strange walking through the streets of my village late at night with no-one about and just the odd car passing by.  It was 11.15pm when I finally got home. 

The Wide Wednesday challenge is  " cycle or motorbike".  I took my blip shot outside one of the entrances to Eldon Square shopping centre - near Grey's Monument. This area seems to be a " staging post " for Deliveroo riders. Thanks to BobsBlips for hosting.

Steps today - 14,330

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.