Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Pot of Gold

Today I’m continuing my series #OneTown. If anyone wants to join me, feel free! There’s already #Onetree and #onestreet.

Spring in the southwest is especially beautiful. Cactus flowers and ocotillo are in bloom. My town, Green Valley, is bursting in gold as far as the eyes can see. It’s magnificent. These trees are called blue palo verde. They are native to the Sonoran desert. They serve as nurse trees for saguaro. Fascinating stuff.

Every main road in town has a median, each containing trees and a variety of cactus. For 2-3 weeks each year, all that can be seen are these in bloom.

As I was driving up the hill to my house, I saw all the shimmering gold in front of me. Then I looked in my mirrors. I felt compelled to stop and try to get both views in one picture. It took me a while, readjusting the mirror (remember, I was on a hill). Then my phone kept overheating so I would have to stop and hold it up to the car’s a/c for a few minutes. I put a shot of a single tree - or three -as an extra.
Hope you enjoy the view.

I can’t stop playing this song. I turn it up, dance around, and sing along at the top of my lungs. It always boosts my mood.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.