Hanami in Stirling

In the past few days the cherry blossom has come out in a big way. I blip it every year though I find it hard to show the full canopy. I've put in an extra and here's a single blossom as the main. These are ornamental cherry trees which look gorgeous for a week or two in spring but which are pretty dull most of the year. They're not particularly useful for pollinators so as they lose vigour the local authority is replacing them with native wild cherry trees. These showy pink ornamental blossoms are well loved locally so replacing them can cause some disquiet. I understand that they look pretty just now but given the global climate emergency I feel that native trees are a better bet.

Early start to get my hair trimmed - a relief - then a quick walk past the cherry trees before coffee with a friend. Haven't had a proper catch up with her for ages so that was good. We were outside because the weather continues to be really lovely.

Later on a Community Council prep meeting. I'm chairing the public meeting next week so I want to be sure of the agenda. I think we'll be able to meet outside for that too. I'm happy to have well spaced activities today so that I can potter in between times.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.