WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

Alone in the snow

1850 m above sea level. No, not me! I haven't done anything interesting the last two rainy days. Guest blip from S, who went for a walk on his way back from meeting Catalan shepherd/goatherds, and didn't meet a soul. He loved it. He also found a very fine bookshop in a Pyrenean village (pop. about 300) and bought 80 euros' worth of books. He was a bit miffed that the bookseller charged him 2 euros for the coffee he drank while he was choosing.

I watched the presidential debate yesterday evening but had to keep muting it. It was an opportunity to get a lot of knitting done. I doubt if it's going to change many people's minds. As Jon Henley of the Guardian said,  perhaps the worst aspect is that debating an extreme right candidate for the presidency ("I respect you as a person even if I don't agree with you") is now completely normalised. Jacques Chirac refused to debate Jean-Marie Le Pen in 2002. Macron could certainly have done more to stop this being normal.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.