Really final Mid Fearn blip

We were up in plenty of time to get everything packed, and breakfast eaten, by just after 8am. That gave us plenty of time to take the usual turn down to the shoreline for one final time. And much pleasure it gave us.

Our run home was smooth. It’s not a short journey, but the A9 is much less stressful since average speed cameras were introduced. Most idiotic driving has stopped as far as I can see. We picked up a bit of shopping on the way in, enough for lunch, dinner and breakfast, as I will have to go shopping again tomorrow. I’ve had several loads of washing through the washer and out to dry, and everything we took with us has been squirrelled away. I even managed a short peloton ride, as I had been missing it. I discovered that whatever you do when you are walking, you don’t use your hamstrings very much. Even after a short 20 minute low impact ride, mine were screaming.

I mentioned yesterday that we’d seen spring set in, more or less, at Mid Fearn, whilst we were there. One thing that also changed was the river that runs between the wee estate and the farm next door, the Wester Fearn Burn. It was quite high a couple of days after we arrived - the product, presumably, of rain in the hills. As it has basically been dry for most of our time there is has got lower and lower, and is currently just a trickle, really. Worth a blip of the burn flowing into the firth.

The other thing that was mega dry when we got home were the plants on the balcony. I’ve already carted 5 or 6 large watering cans full of water out there this afternoon, and I will probably put some more water on them tomorrow. Dry and windy: a recipe for plants shrivelling up (which none of them have done - apart from the winter honeysuckle that started shrivelling up a few weeks ago; I have no idea what it has died of).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.