Northern Wattle Moth

We went north to the house in Snells Beach. Still waiting for the insurance assessors to look at the storm damage from almost a month ago.

Following yesterday's relocation of rugs and chairs, the book cases came to the fore. A big one (came with us from the apartment) is going to act as curtains screening the large glass window panes to the side of the door. I have two solid wood bookcases, which had been in the study at the apartment. S suggested that I replace them with the two tall bookcases I had in my rooms when I was in private practice.

So part of today's trip north was to dismantle them and bring them back. Hope to have time to do the change over tomorrow. Which is a public holiday in honour of ANZAC Day. The battle at Anzac Cove in Turkey in 2015

We were in the final  stages of organising stuff into the car, when movement alerted me to the movement of ? . Then I saw the moth. 

It is an Australian moth which feeds on Acacia (hence the name). and is self introduced in New Zealand. It is also known as the Peacock Moth or the Owl Moth because of the large coloured spots on the wings. The wingspan is about 80mm. My photo is of it with wings folded in partially.

After getting my photo, I assisted it to go outside, and we came back to Titirangi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.