Yay ...

... first Gray Catbird of the season!

Shortly before lunch I went out to the backyard to see if I could get some squirrel pictures as we were going to be on an adventure this afternoon.  

I set some peanuts on the railing and sat facing them waiting to see if any squirrels were around ... they weren't.  But then I turned around to look at the suet feeder behind me.  And what did I see?!?  My first Gray Catbird of the season!!! YAY!!!!!!!  I would have much rather gotten a picture of this lovely NOT at the feeder ... but he/she loved the suet and those are the only pictures I got. 

I absolutely love these birds and look forward to their return for the summer months here in the Northeast.  Now all we are waiting for is the return of the hummingbirds and monarch butterflies. 

As I said above we were off on an adventure after lunch.  Our destination was Sobers Run Loop trail at Jacobsburg State Park.  It had been a little while since we walked this trail and I was looking forward to it.  It's a lovely trail along Sobers Run creek.  And the weather was perfect.  I was perfectly comfortable in my shorts and tee shirt.  

After our walk at Sobers Run trail we stopped by the frog pond which is still within the park.  We only saw a couple of frogs and not much else.

When we got home I realized that I hadn't taken a single squirrel picture so I put more peanuts on the deck railing.  Thankfully it didn't take long for my squirrels to come around. 

Happy Sunday. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.