Bleeding Hearts

Just a photo from my front garden today. I was due to have my new car delivered this morning (a Toyota Yaris Cross), but it was delayed as they needed to get a part from Halfords to fit my dash cam. I asked for it to be delivered as I didn’t fancy a 20 mile drive in a new car with lots of tech, and that’s an automatic which I’ve not driven before. We were in the middle of the handover when I spotted it had a different screen to I expected as I’d paid extra for a City Pack that included an in built sat nav and better cameras (I was told the standard system just connected to your phone and you use Maps). You’ve guessed it, despite being on my order, it hasn’t been fitted. Evidently it has to be done as part of the build and can’t now be added, they’d have to order a new car. I’ve asked him to send me a comprehensive list of what’s on my system and whether it’s stand alone or via my phone, and what precisely is in the City Pack. The reason being he tells me different things each time we speak, the Toyota website has no detail and the car manual supplied has a different audio / visual system. Not happy and I’ve not even driven it yet! 

Day 767 / Day 58 of no Legal Covid Requirements in England (for my record only)
There’s been panic buying in Beijing as some districts are placed into lockdown. Fears of lockdowns across China are causing global stock markets to fall. The Commons Transport Select Committee has referred to UK coronavirus rules as having been arbitrary and confusing. I was interested in some data from Aviva on the change in insurance claims during the pandemic. Burns from irons on carpets fell by 42% in 2021 from average due to working from home and using casual clothes that didn’t need ironing. There were over 1,000 claims in 2020/21 related to mask wearing, with glasses being dropped or left behind after they steamed up and hearing aids being lost or damaged when the mask is removed (70% of claims). Accidental damage from using home exercise equipment rose by 200% in 2020.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.