Spoilt

The bakery near my apartment was closed today. For breakfast I had to make do with what the local mini market has. This was not a good start. I have become spoilt. 

I made up for it later with garlic soup for lunch and then coffee with cheesecake in the afternoon.

Along the way I visited the castle for the first time. It dominates the skyline in the city centre, and more so on the approach to the city from Vienna. I visited the city 3 or 4 times during the late 1990s and did not ever get to the castle. 

That is so often the way with business travel. 

It was well worth the visit this afternoon. It contains an exhibition dedicated to the 1989 Velvet Revolution which is excellent. It is worth the admission fee on its own. 

My Blip is from that exhibition. Dubček was Slovak. 

The Extra is also from the exhibition. It is a re-creation of an ŠtB interrogation room and has video clips running which show testimony from a few of those who went through that process.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.