Adam Smith Close.

A fairly lazy morning. The only useful thing I did was phone Pete the arbour builder and leave a message. After lunch I drove to Kirkcaldy to pick up my new glasses.  Left my old ones to have new lenses fitted.  That's two identical pairs now.  I really like these titanium frames.  They are such a good fit and light and comfy. I'm hoping I can just replace the lenses for a couple of years now.  Afterwards I walked down the High Street and photographed  Adam Smith Close.  Smith was born in Kirkcaldy  and wrote The Wealth of Nations there.  It was published in 1776 and laid the foundations of classical free market economic theory. It  was a precursor to the modern academic discipline of economics. In this and other works, he developed the concept of division of labour and expounded upon how rational self-interest and competition can lead to economic prosperity. Smith was controversial in his own day and his general approach and writing style were often satirised.  I can't say I find his ideas appealing.  In moderation they may be OK seem to me a disaster when carried to extreme.     After that I went to Morrisons for a bit of shopping then home for tea and toast.  A few token weeds were pulled up but I'd done what passes as a lot of walking for me so it's sofa and heat pad for the rest of the day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.