Now, as I see it......

By JohnRH

On the road

This morning we drove down to Watford to attend the funeral of our friend's Mum.  We didn't know her well but wanted to attend to support our friend, and the day went as well as these things do.  The lady was in her 90's and the Matriarch of a large family of both her own and adopted children, so there were a lot of people there.

Afterwards, we set off on our road trip.  First stop Rutland Water; on arrival at the hotel I had a walk out to the well photographed semi-submerged Normanton Church at the edge of the reservoir.  We were last here on 19th March 2020 after celebrating W's birthday at a very good restaurant.  It was only days before the first lockdown came into force and there was definite air of depression hanging over everyone at the time.  Today was much better; there was even a photoshoot going on for, I assume, an Indian wedding magazine with a very cold and bored looking 'bride'.

On the way along I spotted this wren standing on a gate.  The church was going to be my main shot but I thought the wren deserved the spotlight.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.