More bluebells

I went out for a quick walk this morning with Val, a very old friend who has just come back from visiting her sisters in Australia. We went to Ecclesall Woods, where the bluebells are looking good. It was cold though. A hot chocolate in the woodland centre cafe was really welcome. I didn't take the camera, so this is a quick phone shot. 

Later I picked Eben up from school. We played a couple of board games - I'm really hoping his interest in these will continue, as it's a lovely, companionable way to spend time together. To my surprise, he chose to get out the standard version of Scrabble, rather than the Junior one. I was even more surprised at how quickly he got into it.  He needed a bit of help, given the big difference in our vocabularies, but a lot less than I'd expected.

Then it was a quick scoot back to our house for a 6 pm start for my online Greek class. As usual, I think we were all a bit overfaced by the task of getting back into it after a holiday break. But the longer we spend together online, the more relaxed we all seem to get, and soon we were cracking jokes (in English) and stumbling through some chatty exchanges in clumsy but entertaining Greek.

Meanwhile, the news just gets worse. The prospect of Elon Musk overseeing even more polarising behaviour on Twitter is grim.  I'm not a routine Twitter user, but I dread the scope for malign influence on elections and other events. And the statements coming out of Russia are getting more ominous and more threatening by the day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.