Capital adventures

By marchmont

Portraits

Today was book ended by two visits to the Portrait Gallery.  Firstly to meet up with an ex-colleague, J, from my Crisis days.  We had a very long coffee break 9very long) catching up and discussing interim work.  

After she left, to go to work, I had a wander round the Gallery.  I don't think I've actually visited the Galleries before.  It was good to see Arpita's portraits.  I saw them when they were exhibited in East London in autumn 2018 and now these two have been bought by the National Galleries.  Arpita is Amelia's godmother.  Her mother is on the right.

By the time I came out the sun had returned.  I had had plans to 'go somewhere' but though sunny the wind was snell and I decided I'd be better sitting in my own sheltered garden before returning in ths evening.  Good call.  I read a wee bit and then snoozed in the sun for over an hour, accompanied by birdsong. Lovely.

After a snack it was back to the Portrait Gallery (a slightly quicker journey than earlier and I also managed to get on the right bus) for the launch of the College's Creative Industries festival, 'Glow', first time since 2019.  It was brilliant, such energy and verve and I had a great time catching up with some of the staff I hadn't seen for ages.  And the brass band playing the national anthem from the Gallery almost brought me to tears. 

And it was still a beautiful, if slightly chilly, evening when I walked back up to Princes Street for another bus home.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.