Home & Away

By HeidiAndDolly

Cambridge!

Today I was in Cambridge! That’s Cambridge, Massachusetts, not Cambridge, UK!

As I said in yesterday’s blip, I flew to Boston last night, but we are staying in a different hotel because of the Boston Marathon. I am normally awake super early because of the 5 hour time difference, but I rarely leave the hotel early. Today, however, when I woke up at just after 530am, I threw open the curtains, and saw the most beautiful view of the river, the boats, and the skyline of Boston (see yesterday’s extra photo for the nighttime view). I just HAD to get out there to take a few pictures in the early morning light. I quickly dressed and was outside by 545. I thought I’d be out for about 20 minutes or so, but I kept walking and was out for about 2 hours! I even saw a few numbered runners heading to the start of the marathon. That was the closest I got to the race all day!

I eventually made it back to the hotel and had some breakfast in my room and promptly fell back to sleep for a couple more hours.

By late morning I was ready for my second outing. I decided I would walk to Harvard Square - a long walk, but even longer for me as I stopped to take lots of pictures and took a few detours down side streets when I saw interesting houses. When I’m somewhere where the architecture is so different from what I see at home, I love to just wander around looking at the beautiful houses and other historic buildings. This is a collection of some of my favourites.

It was a beautiful sunny day, but cold. I’m sure the runners back in Boston were glad it wasn’t too warm! I soon warmed up too. I finally made it to Harvard and had a quick look around the main college campus. I had run out of time to really explore, so that will have to wait for another day. Thankfully I was able to get a bus back to the hotel as I was exhausted and my feet hurt! I’d done over 20,000 steps!

I stopped for a pizza for dinner and still had enough time to nap for a couple of hours before getting ready for work and the 11pm flight back to London.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.