Adam and Eve

First of May, a special day of my favourite month, if there is such a thing, loaded with symbolism and hope. The international workers day contains demonstrations for better conditions for the working people. I didn't take part in the manifestations, even though I certainly by birth belong to that group of people, because I think it's importance has drowned in conventions.

In stead, I spent the whole morning, and some of yesterday afternoon, fixing up the entrance to "my" house, I'm making it mine by putting some of myself in it, even though I only rent it. Planks were loose and it has perhaps not been cleaned or maintained since it was built in the late nineties so the need for tender love and care was imminent. My first extra shows the finished result. I treated the wood with something we call "Roslags-mahogny", the name stands for a method of making a simple wooden boat look like a boat made of mahogany. I mix 1+1+1 part of tar, linseed oil and turpentine, mix it and paint the wood rather fluently. The result quite resembles the colour of Mahogany while it protects the wood, make it last longer and look nice. It also ages beautifully and smells divine of tar. 

During the last hours of sunlight I went for a walk through The Grove and Alvaret, to listen to the birds and to see the latest development in the world of plants. The "Arontorps ros" a flower named after the village it's found in, isn't a rose at all, in latin it's called Adonis vernalis, but is very rare,  protected by law and can only be found in a very few places on my island but also in Gotland and Bornholm, of all the nordic countries (second extra). While walking on Alvaret I saw this years first (for me) orchid (main blip). This one is called "Adam och Eva", 'Adam and Eve', Dactylhoriza sambucina in latin, because it usually grows side by side with the white variant of the plant. In this case, the white hadn't arrived yet. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.