Friends Reunited!

Today I have spent an enjoyable day with this lovely lady - a talented artist who I last saw 45 years ago! Friends at junior school, Denise and I went our separate ways when we left Haslewood and headed off to secondary school. Denise to Broxbourne Schpol, and me to Sheredes. In the heady days pre any kind of social media, mobile phones etc me literally didn't speak again....until today! We hooked up on Facebook 4 or 5 years ago, when I noticed Denise had moved from Herts to South Norfolk. It has taken all this time for us to get together!

So I woke at 8ish as Jon and Henry were heading out to archery. Sorted the airing cupboard which was spilling out as it burst with clean clothes, then took a big pile down to iron. Had a quick chat with mum while I ironed most of my bits, then got in the car to head south of Norwich, where Denise was opening her art studio to the general public..that's me! I arrived at about midday, and I think Denise took some seconds to work out who I was - I hadn't properly told her my intention to turn up! Then we proceeded to chat, drink tea and eat delicious homemade cake - for over 4 hours!! Well, we did have 45 years to catch up on after all. I was lucky enough to meet Denise's son Dan who popped in to say hello. I browsed her extensive and varied collection of artwork. Paintings in all mediums, and on so many subjects. She really is a very talented artist and if you'd like a piece of original art work and reasonable prices I would urge you to have a look at her website or Facebook page. I'll add her contact at the end of this.

I left Denise's in St Olaves at 4.20 and got home a bit after 5.30. Mollie had cooked dinner and Daniel joined us. Two days in a row all 5 of us have voluntarily spent the evening together! Nice burritos with all the trimmings made by Mollie and now we are playing Yahtzee!

A great weekend so far and still another day off! Woohoo.

www.deniseallen.co.uk
Facebook.com/DeniseAllenFineArt

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.