High Jinks at Sea - Stromness Day 16

What a difference the weather has on my psyche. I woke to a murky grey dawn and a cheerless vista which lulled me into sitting in bed reading far longer than I have ever done before. Eventually I got going, and was a transformed lady when the murk disappeared about 10am and the world was suddenly blue and sunny.

At 10:30 a toot on a car horn outside heralded my swimming companion for today, meeting up with two other ladies at the slipway.The spring tide was high and the water bouncy but it was so such fun that 13 minutes passed in a flash.

Walking back along the road to the Ness after lunch to say hi to EllyJay, I heard the clip clop of hooves behind me and there was someone whom I presumed to be HappyValley’s good man astride an enormous horse (George?). It can’t happen very often that a rider is asked the question ‘Are you Gorgeous?’ He seemed unfazed and after pleasantries were exchanged, he cantered on.

There was a biting north wind today ( feeling like6°) but my little garden was sheltered from it by a wall allowing me to sit with my book until the ferry left for Scrabster. I remain frostbite free.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.