Bee problem

Jon was so busy this weekend (like a bee really) he didn't manage to squeeze in a check of his bees.

Today, he was in Norwich at a tree meeting, and I was working at home on my own, when I heard a loud buzzing. A VERY loud buzzing. I realised it sounded like lots of bees, and immediately thought they must be swarming. I ran down stairs and out the front, where the whole of the drive above head height was a awash, just thousands of the little buzzers, trying to decide what to do. They hadn't bunched up at that point. I rang Jon, but he said there wasn't anything we could do. The hive had clearly brought on another Queen, and she had left,taking a big chunk of the bees with her. I was keeping my fingers crossed that they hadn't all gone, as a nucleus costs about £250.

By the time I came indoors for my lunch, they had all disappeared and there was no sign of the swarm hanging in any local trees. (I wandered up and down the road looking for them, but you will be pleased to know I didn't 'call' them, like I do when Ralph is missing!) There was still lots of activity around the hive which was a relief.

Jon got back at about 3.45 and we had a cup of tea in the French Quarter and chatted about bees. Once he had finished work, he got bee clothes on (not yellow and black strips) and checked them. There were still lots there, so he needs to put a new layer or whatever it is called, in, so that there is more space for those left. We should get a bit of honey too.

Dan came round to collect his motorbike. We had more tea, then dinner before I went to the allotment for some digging exercise. I chatted to the young man who has taken on the impossible plot next to ours. He is making a really good go of it. No thanks to our parish council who didn't even rotavate it for him.

Now some tv before bed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.