Top of the Rock...

Day 1...

Well it's fair to say that I have been smiling since I woke up this morning... or should that be yesterday morning? The time thing confuses me, I think it's about 5am my time, I'm knackered now and I suspect running on fumes!

Flight was on schedule, bus was simple and I grinned all the way into the city. I wandered up to my little apartment which is every bit as cool as it was in the photos when I booked it. Central and cosy with a 24 hour supermarket on each corner. I had a bit of a travel plug drama but sheer force and a strong Italian came to the rescue.

I had a shower and unpacked before wandering along to Fifth Avenue and then to the Rockefeller Centre to meet Giacomo for dinner. First stop it was up to the viewing platform at the Top of the Rock where I was met with this view in one direction and the view over Central Park in the opposite direction. I thought I'd share the view that made me squeal in delight when I saw it, after I'd looked at the floor all the way up in the lift... blink and you're there but the roof is glass and the lights go off. The view is spectacular in every direction.

We went out for dinner, Italian of course and wine of course and I've had the best day. I could try to put into words just how lovely Giacomo is but I fear that not only would I not do him justice, but I'm pretty sure you all know he's a treasure. Thank you for a lovely evening and I hope we'll catch you again next week.

I walked home again right along my street, from Fifth Avenue. This city truly does not sleep and the lights in Times Square are so bright you could be forgiven for wondering what the time is. A horse and cart has just gone past the window, quite surreal. The people, the yellow cabs, the steam coming out of the manholes... all of it I have fallen in love with all over again!

Now I must sleep... tomorrow I shall mostly be pleasing myself!

Thank you so much for the last two days comments, hearts and stars. You've taken me to spotlight and my commenting has been rubbish. I don't imagine that's going to improve in the next couple of weeks so apologies in advance. I've switched off the data roaming so I'm only going to be able to keep up when I'm home... I don't imagine there will be a lot of home time! x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.