Grass Snake

I took my weekly walk down to Talton and Crimscote this afternoon. We used to do it almost daily when we had a dog but not so often these days.

Of course at this time of year there is always something new to see and even after only a few days things have changed. Even more flowers and blossom out.

When I get to Talton I always look over the bridge to see if the stream has any birdlife there, usually wagtails, but sometimes other species too. Well today was different as you can see by the photo, a grass snake lying on top of a small pile of straw like debris which has collected at the top of the very small waterfall as it trickles over to a lower level.

I assumed it was warming itself up in the weak sunshine. I haven't seen a snake for a couple of years so it was a nice surprise to do so. It had gone when I came back the same way. Never mind.

The extra is of some smallish flowers just over the low wall at the entrance to Talton House. No, I don't know what they are.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.