A view from Jeanneb

By Jeanneb53

Lovely lilac

A good all age service at church this morning and the sun has returned after two days absence. 

When I walked up our drive coming home I noticed how good the little Violas were looking in the pots on the wall. (There are 4) They’ve filled out nicely and we have two more big bowls of them on the tables on the back patio outside the kitchen window.

I came back out to take some photos before making coffee and noticed how lovely the lilac is too so that was my blip decided, you can see it flowering well behind the pots. We’ve always had a lilac until last year. This one belongs to our neighbours. There was a similar one between our gardens at the front of the house years ago but it came down, along with two fences, in a particularly heavy late April snow!

In our previous house we had a well established white flowering one. Inadvertently we brought a sucker with us when moving house and transferring another plant. We were told it wouldn’t flower but it did until last year when it died. That’s nearly 40 years it lasted!

I did some more gardening. Another tub full of weeds, mainly buttercup that was hidden in awkward spots. Chris only went to the tip this morning with the grass cuttings! I was accompanied by the Robin again, less manic than last time, the cat not being around and rather endearingly a lady blackbird was feeding it’s fledgling on the lawn from the droppings below the feeders.

I came in as it has started clouding over and I mysteriously seem to have blood down my trousers! Luckily I’d changed out of the white ones I went to church in!

Spent a bit of time over lunch booking evening meals for our Scotland trip later in the week. The current situation with staffing post Covid seems to mean you can’t just rely on turning up and getting a meal anywhere. When doing so I discovered that our first night in Ayr is actually half board, a bonus as I’d forgotten!

Spotted a harlequin ladybird on the Pieris, nit one of the several seen a week or two ago.


Looking back two years since posting I see we had similar pots on the then newly finished wall but with union flags in them for our VE Day party with the rest of the street - all socially distanced!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.