pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

Ouchie!

My parents offered to take the wee ones to see The Eldest at work in her café.

It was a hard “yes” from me.

Whilst they were out, I contemplated catching up on my lying around time, but growing tired of living out of the suitcase and bags tucked behind the custom-made sliding doors in my bedroom and with no cash for additional furniture, I rescued some shelving units from the shed at my parents and cut them down to size before cleaning and installation.

On a roll and enjoying wielding a saw, I chopped some more down for under-the-stairs storage, a shoe rack and in a rare flash of inspiration, a monitor stand for the desk.

I did suffer a gaping wound in a terrifying incident involving a tape measure, a momentary loss of focus and some creative swearing, but stemmed the ensuing flow of claret with not one, but two plasters.

The children enjoyed the trip out, devouring cake and hot chocolate with their grandparents and served by their older sister. We were all back together in the evening for chippy tea and whilst us chaps crashed out watching Man Utd get humiliated at Brighton, Matty sat with her Nan and did some creative rock painting (also extra).

It’s been a lovely day and happily I fell into my bed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.