pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

Union

No run this morning, so we came-to slowly with a quick croissant before heading over to a boot sale.

I wish we hadn’t bothered. It was a very muted, depressing atmosphere, but LadyV was able to purchase some walking boots for her eldest for the princely sum of £1.

We headed back down the A6 with tummies rumbling, so the suggestion was made to head to Billy Bob’s for a burger. As both a fan of burgers and food-based alliteration, we did just that and devoured a chilli burger (me) and Philly cheese steak (her) with a bowl of fries.

Needing to walk it off, we stopped by Barton Grange on our way back to Heysham, which was lovely - massively overpriced - but lovely.

On arrival back in Heysham, we recalibrated with a cup of tea in the sun and then headed out onto the Prom and it was there, gentle reader, that I found the true spirit of the coronation as tables lined the promenade and were full of brits drinking, chatting and laughing amidst more Union Jacks than you could shake a stick at. When I say “drinking”, I mean the nice side of drinking - a bit tipsy and smiley in the sunshine, not legless and peeing in the street outside the taxi rank*. 

Following our walk, I left LadyV - who would be revisiting the prom later with a friend to watch some fireworks - and headed home only to arrive at the embers of a street party, which had been going on outside my own front door! I popped over for a quick drink before heading back inside to unpack and get myself mentally prepared for the football as West Ham took on Manchester United.

It was just as well I prepared as a thrilling game unfolded in which West Ham scored (with a bit of help from the opposition keeper) and then went on to win the game, thus pretty much ensuring their Premier League survival.

Perfect end to a cracking weekend!




*This may have come later whilst I was safely tucked up in bed and not…..privy to it. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.