Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Perfect timing

Margret (next door) and I always like to have walks in the woods at Barrasford at this time of year. She can't go now because she broke a bone in her right foot and the path is too steep and rough. I've been delayed by the Walking Festival.

After lunch today, I made time to go. The early purple orchids (Orchis mascula) are in full bloom and very pretty. I also found Herb Paris (Paris quadrifolia) which grows in one tiny area of the woods. The Wildlife Trust says it is common, but we don't find it anywhere else around here. It is the first extra.

Two nights ago I was very keen to blip bird cherry, because I wanted to share the delight of the Swedish season Mellan hägg och syren. I now realise that I blipped another Prunus and not Prunus padus. The correct prunus is in the other two extras. Apologies for any confusion and thanks to Margret (next door) who spotted the error.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.