Ragged Robin

Three years in and I am still learning about the wildflowers in my mini meadow.  I've been out with the identifier app this afternoon and Tony came out and spotted this lone ragged robin which I'm very pleased about.  Back in 2019 when we laid the turf there was lots of ragged robin, but it has since 'disappeared'.  Googling suggested that the soil wasn't suitable for it, but fingers crossed it will re-establish from this plant, especially if the yellow rattle keeps the grass down.  It's a lot of fun watching flowers emerge and guessing what they are.  I googled another plant which was growing strongly to discover it was mugwort which is apparently great for tisanes and various ailments, but it repels insects and prevents nearby plants from developing!  I had sited my bug hotel behind it because it was providing shelter!  Needless to say it is in the garden bin now.

Wildflowers identified today
chicory
clover
garden sorrel
great willowherb
knapweed
mallow
meadow buttercup
mugwort
pink campion
plantain
ragged robin
teasel
yarrow
yellow rattle

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.