WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

Situation

Our village, nestled in a geological fault -- this expanse of vines is known as "L'Océan". Side note: almost none of these buildings existed when we moved here. It's full-on summer weather now, and forecast to last all week. A little adventure is planned.

I decided to brave my French book group one last time. The group's too big -- 15 people there this time -- and you may remember that I tossed aside the current book, Javier Cercas's Le Monarque des Ombres, in disgust, trying to read it when I had Covid. Well everyone else (those that got to speak anyway) reckoned it was a work of staggering genius. Perhaps I'd have thought so too if I'd got past page 61. But I doubt it. Next up, for a bit of light relief, is José Saramago's Blindness, which I have read and have no desire to reread. And yes, another non-French author. I'm going to bow out quietly.

Then again, my English book group might hate me soon -- I was spurred by an episode of the Backlisted podcast to finally propose Russell Hoban's Riddley Walker, which I loved when I read it ten years ago. But it's not the easiest read either! I'm rereading it and still love it though.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.